Les terres agricoles françaises diminuent rapidement au nom de l’artificialisation, malgré les politiques environnementales

DSC_2463

Où sont passées toutes les cultures ? Et les vaches ? Une vaste étendue de terres agricoles de ce côté de la Normandie a été dévastée là-bas dans le village voisin ; la terre y a été retournée par endroits et, ailleurs, aplanie comme une chape sous le ciel d’automne.

Chape est le terme. La terre sera ensevelie sous du béton et du bitume, bouleversant entre autres la nappe phréatique. Notre fermier local Rollon avec sa moustache en guidon a été exproprié par les autorités locales.

Il n’est pas le seul agriculteur de longue date. Ce bétonnage, cette « artificialisation » du sol est une tendance constante partout en France.

Un nouvel échangeur autoroutier — ainsi qu’une zone industrielle — est en construction pour que les personnes puissent se rendre plus facilement et plus rapidement à Caen, et permettre aux grandes villes (Rouen, Le Havre, Paris, Caen) de « se rapprocher ». Cela entraînera une augmentation du trafic autoroutier, notamment des camions de transport qui utilisent du carburant et contribuent davantage à la destruction de la couche d’ozone. Ceci, en plus des entrepôts construits ici ou ailleurs pour stocker des aliments destinés à la distribution, va à l’encontre de la prétendue intention du gouvernement de réduire les chaînes de distribution alimentaire, d’encourager une économie locale et circulaire, d’aider les agriculteurs et d’améliorer notre environnement : tel était l’objectif principal de la très médiatique campagne du président États généraux pour l’alimentation, où les discussions ont eu un moment d’euphorie éphémère à l’automne 2017*.

Les contradictions politiques abondent

L’artificialisation de vastes étendues de terres agricoles riches est une violation flagrante de la politique environnementale du gouvernement et ignore particulièrement le propre projet pour la biodiversité 2018 du gouvernement présenté en juin dernier et appelant à la « zéro artificialisation » du sol (« objectif zéro artificialisation »).

En effet, le gouvernement poursuit avec détermination un nouveau projet de loi, qui une fois approuvé s’appellera Loi Élan, pour « construire plus, mieux et moins cher », selon les déclarations du porte-parole lors de la présentation en avril dernier. Le gouvernement veut « améliorer les procédures juridiques en matière de permis de construire ». En fait, il est plus difficile de s’opposer à des projets de construction, notamment pour les associations de défense de l’environnement muselées par la réduction de leurs budgets. En attendant l’approbation du projet de loi, le président gouverne par décret ; il a publié en juillet un décret ad hoc pour la mise en œuvre de la composante réglementaire du projet de loi.

Il n’est pas étonnant que le ministre de l’Environnement, M. Hulot, ait démissionné sous le coup de l’exaspération en août dernier. La construction contribue également à l’épuisement, plus que signalé, du sable mondial utilisé pour les matériaux de construction. Les architectes sont consternés et certains se demandent pourquoi ne pas améliorer la qualité des bâtiments dans les villes plutôt que de développer des zones suburbaines.

Pendant ce temps, notre exproprié Rollon nous livre toujours notre bois de chauffage d’hiver et continue de chasser le sanglier dans les bois derrière notre maison (tout en maintenant son fusil dans le bon angle !). Nous l’avons vu l’autre jour avec sa remorque transportant la masse corpulente d’une victime aux défenses formidables qui sera sans doute partagée avec tout le village. Est-ce là sa seule activité future ?

Selon les chiffres du gouvernement, 9,3 % des terres en France métropolitaine sont désormais recouvertes de béton, de bitume et d’autres surfaces « artificialisées », ce taux augmentant de 0,8 % par an depuis 2010 (1,4 % par an entre 2006 et 2015).

La construction de logements augmente beaucoup plus rapidement (+9 %) que la population (+4 %). Avons-nous besoin de construire autant de logements ?

La population a augmenté deux fois moins que le nombre de projets pour construction de logements

J’ai exposé dans ces pages comment le gouvernement soutient l’agriculture biologique, les nouvelles technologies agricoles telles que la méthanisation pour l’exploitation des déchets agricoles à des fins d’électricité, ainsi que les méthodes de préservation des sols pour améliorer nos indispensables stocks de carbone. Néanmoins, cela permet aux grandes entreprises de condamner la terre que nous sommes censés cultiver. Et il nous menace de nous verbaliser pour non-respect de la réglementation environnementale.

Imprécision statistique

Alors que le fossé noir entre les politiques et l’action du gouvernement semble se creuser, les statistiques officielles prêtent également à confusion. J’ai consulté le site Web du gouvernement sur « l’artificialisation » des sols, qui indique dans un document de deux pages que 9,3 % des terres en France ont été artificialisées. Il souligne ensuite que les pays européens ont un taux d’artificialisation plus élevé, soulignant que l’Allemagne se situe à 7,2 %, l’Italie à 7 % et le Royaume-Uni à 6 %. Plus élevé ? Si la France est à 9,3 %, leurs chiffres sont manifestement erronés. Un document de deux pages doit être clair, concis et précis. Il a été publié en décembre 2016, ils ont donc eu le temps de le corriger.

Quels critères utilisent-ils pour faire une telle déclaration ? Après avoir épluché le document, j’en déduis qu’ils utilisent très confusément la mesure de Corine Land Cover qui donne un chiffre de 5,6 % (et non les 9,3 % du gouvernement) pour la France. Mais personne ne dit rien. Corine Land Cover est la mesure utilisée par la CEE et n’inclut pas les surfaces inférieures à 25 hectares, les terres incultes, les chantiers et les espaces verts artificiels.

Le gouvernement français utilise la méthode Teruti-Lucas basée sur des statistiques. L’UE utilise la méthode Corine Land Cover basée sur la télédétection.

Cela vous paraît clair ? L’Institut national de la recherche agronomique Français/INRA a admis en 2017 qu’il n’existait pas encore de mesure quantitative, mais que les chiffres montrent une tendance générale.

Qu’il s’agisse d’une mauvaise gestion ou d’une mauvaise communication, ces contradictions — et bien d’autres — doivent être résolues si le gouvernement veut recouvrer sa popularité décroissante.

Au nom des emplois ?

Les autorités gouvernementales locales profitent de cet échangeur d’autoroute de notre village voisin pour construire ce qu’elles appellent « le développement de sites d’activités prioritaires »**. Une telle déclaration trompeuse donne carte blanche pour la construction de pratiquement n’importe quoi. Et le leitmotiv habituel est utilisé : cela créera des emplois. Nous verrons bien, mais entre-temps, les agriculteurs et les ouvriers agricoles expropriés et bien expérimentés sont maintenant au chômage. Les agences pour l’emploi du centre-ville proposent de nombreuses offres, la plupart sans preneurs. Il est à noter que dans un pays où les lois du travail rigoureuses étouffent les entreprises, agiter la carotte de l’emploi n’est pas très convaincant. Dans notre village, nous avons un grand complexe de bâtiments vide depuis plus de cinq ans et il n’y a toujours pas de preneurs. Il y a eu un projet visant à le transformer en maison de retraite, mais ce plan a suivi le même destin que ses prédécesseurs, noyé dans des problèmes budgétaires et des querelles juridiques.

Le Grand Paris, une sérieuse asphyxie

Un autre projet français d’artificialisation beaucoup plus vaste, parmi tant d’autres, prend de l’ampleur dans le grenier à blé de la France. Ce secteur de Paris-Saclay situé juste au sud de Paris est sous l’épée de Damoclès avec le projet pharaonique du Grand Paris : 229 kilomètres carrés du sol le plus fertile (limon) de France couvrant 2 départements (l’Essonne et les Yvelines) sont en cours d’artificialisation. Les projets visant à créer une « oasis de verdure », dans cette vaste région comprenant des zones dédiées à l’agriculture locale, sont considérés comme un affront par les agriculteurs locaux expropriés qui rejettent ces projets comme étant des « paroles en l’air » et des tours de passe-passe en faveur d’une urbanisation galopante.

Construction de Grand Paris, chantier près de Saclay, Essone. Photo : Maxppp

Il y aura toujours des arguments pour et contre l’artificialisation. Mais il faudrait peut-être revoir certaines questions fondamentales sérieuses. À l’instar d’autres agriculteurs dépossédés, Rollon a été indemnisé financièrement pour cesser de produire, mais à quel prix ! Les agriculteurs français dépossédés sont nombreux et affrontent des conséquences personnelles déplorables. La question du suicide chez les agriculteurs a été soulevée par le Sénat en 2017. Les chiffres sur les suicides sont choquants et souvent évoqués : un rapport officiel de 2016 indique qu’un agriculteur se suicide tous les deux jours***, soit 20 % de plus que le reste de la population, et que ce taux est en hausse — un reflet de la façon dont les agriculteurs sont peu considérés et appréciés, malgré le fait que ce sont eux qui nous fournissent la nourriture que nous mangeons.

Par conséquent, il faut être conscient qu’à chaque fois que nous cherchons à nous déplacer plus rapidement ou à acheter des aliments qui ne sont pas cultivés localement, il existe un certain prix non financier à payer. Le développement de telles infrastructures a de graves conséquences environnementales et sociales à long terme. La nature a toujours le dernier mot et elle nous a tragiquement démontré au cours des dernières années ce que l’ingérence de l’homme peut provoquer : des inondations catastrophiques, de sérieuses pertes de la biodiversité, la disparition d’espèces, la pollution de l’air et des maladies…

Voilà pour Rollon et sa chasse au sanglier ; il lui reste encore quelques champs où il fait pousser du lin dont les têtes de fleurs printanières étalent un merveilleux voile bleu pastel sur la terre, un tableau bien plus agréable et optimiste que celui de la chape sur la terre condamnée par le nouvel échangeur autoroutier.

Comments: 3 replies added

  1. Maxim octobre 30, 2018

    However, the loss of agricultural land to the spatial expansion of urban areas is often exaggerated; one recent study suggested that only West Europe among the world's regions has more than 1 per cent of its land area as urban ( S 992 chneider

  2. ajh octobre 30, 2018

    Thanks for this, interesting. Can you let me know where I can find the study you refer to?

  3. chocolate octobre 30, 2018

    Urban centres often expand over their nation's most productive agricultural land since most urban centres grew there precisely because of highly fertile soils. Most of the world's major cities today have been important cities for several hundred years, so they became important cities before the development of motorized transport (and later refrigeration) that reduced cities' dependence on their surroundings for food and other agricultural products. Of course, for prosperous cities, the demand for agricultural commodities has long-since gone far beyond what is or could be produced in their surroundings. They draw on large and complex global supply chains and have large ecological footprints, drawing on distant elsewheres for food, fuel and carbon sinks ( Rees 1992 ). The dependence of many very large concentrations of urban populations on long international supply chains for food, fuels and most intermediate and final goods 6 makes them vulnerable to disasters in locations that supply these or buy their products, and also to rising fuel prices.

Join in: leave your comment

France's agricultural land fast diminishing despite environmental policies

DSC_2463

Where have all the crops gone?  And the cows?  A vast stretch of farmland up here in our part of Normandy has been laid waste in the next village, the earth churned up in places and, elsewhere, smoothed out like a pall under the autumn sky.

Pall is the word.  The earth will be buried under concrete and tarmac, upsetting not only the water table.  Our local farmer Rollon with his handlebar moustache has been expropriated by the local authorities.

He is not the only farmer by a long haul.  This concreting, this ‘artificialisation’ of the land is an ongoing trend throughout France.

Stretches of agricultural land,seen here in the distance, will be covered with concrete and tarmac for roads and development, up here in Normandy. Photo: ajh

A new motorway exchange – as well as an industrial zone – is being built so that people can get to Caen and come from Caen more easily and quicker, so that the big cities (Rouen, Le Havre, Paris, Caen) can ‘come closer’.   This will increase motorway traffic, notably transport trucks using fuel and contributing further to the destruction of the ozone layer.  This, coupled with warehouses built either here or elsewhere to stock food for distribution, flies in the face of the Government’s purported intention to reduce food distribution chains, to encourage a local, circular economy, to help farmers and to improve our environment: such was the main thrust of the President’s much publicised General Estates for Food, where discussions had a short-lived moment of euphoria last autumn 2017*.

Policy Contradictions abound

The  artificialisation of vast swathes of rich farming land is in blatant disregard of government environmental policy, and specifically snubs the government’s own 2018 Biodiversity Plan, presented last June and calling for ‘zero artificialision’ of the soil (“objectif zero artificialisation”).

Indeed, the government is pressing on with a new bill – when approved it will be called the Loi Elan (élan can be translated as ‘impetus’) –  to ‘build more, better and less expensively’, to quote the spokesman during the presentation last April.  The government wants to ‘improve legal procedures when dealing with building permits’, in essence: make it more difficult for opposition to such building projects, particularly from environment Associations who are being muzzled by having their budgets cut.  While the bill awaits approval, the President is ruling by decree; he published in July an ad hoc Decree to implement the regulatory component of the bill.

It is no wonder the Environment Minister Hulot resigned in exasperation last August.  Such construction also contributes to the much reported depletion of the world’s sand used for building material.  Architects are in dismay, and some ask why not improve the quality of buildings inside towns, rather than develop suburban areas?

Meanwhile our expropriated Rollon still delivers us our winter firewood and still hunts the wild boar in the woods behind our house (and keeps his gun at the right angle!).  We saw him the other day with his trailer carrying the corpulent mass of a formidably tusked victim which no doubt will be shared around the village. But is this his only future activity?

According to government figures, 9.3% of land in metropolitan France is now covered with concrete, tarmac and other ‘artificialised’ surfaces, with the rate growing at 0.8% per year since 2010 (1.4% per year between 2006-2015).

Housing development is increasing at a much faster rate (+9%) than the population (+4%).  Do we need so much housing development?

The population of France has grown twice as slow as the number of housing projects.

I’ve reported on these pages how the government champions bio farming, new farming technologies such as methanisation to harness farm waste for electricity, soil preservation methods to improve our much needed carbon stocks.  Yet it permits big businesses to condemn the very earth we’re supposed to be nurturing.  And it threatens the rest of us with fines for not respecting environment regulations.

Statistical confusion

While the black hole between government policies and government action seems to deepen, official statistics are also confusing.  I looked up the Government website on soil ‘artificialisation’ which says in a two page document that 9.3% of land in France has been artificialised. It then claims in highlight that European countries have a higher artificialisation rate, pointing out that Germany is at 7.2%, Italy at 7%, and the UK at 6 %.  Higher?  If France is 9.3%, their sums are blatantly wrong.  A two page document should be clear, concise and to the point. It was published December 2016, so they’ve had time to correct it.

What criteria are they using to make such a claim?  After reading around, I can only assume they are very confusingly using the Corine Land Cover measure which comes up with the figure of 5.6% (not the government’s 9.3% figure) for France.   But they don’t say that.   Corine Land Cover is the measure used by the EEC, and does not include surfaces under 25 hectares, wasteland, work sites and artificial green spaces.

The French government uses the Teruti-Lucas method based on statistics.  The EU uses the Corine Land Cover method based on remote sensing.

Clear?  The French National Institute for Agricultural Research/INRA admitted in 2017 that there is no quantitive measure yet available, but that figures show a general tendency.

Be it mismanagement, or miscommunication, these – and many other – contradictions need to be addressed if the government wants to recover its dwindling popularity.

In the name of jobs?

The local governmental authorities are taking the advantage of this motorway interchange in our next village to build something they call “le développement de sites d’activités prioritaires” ** – translating literally as ‘development of sites with priority activities’.  Such an illusive statement gives carte blanche for building practically anything.  And the usual mantra is being used: it will create jobs.  We shall see, but meanwhile expropriated and well experienced farmers and farm labourers are now out of a job.  The job agencies down town advertise many on offer, mostly with no takers.  It is to be noted that in a country where enterprises are stifled by strict labour laws, dangling the job carrot is not very convincing.   In our village we have a large building complex standing empty for over five years and there are still no takers.  There was once a project to use it for a retirement home, but that plan went the way of all flesh, buried in budget issues and legal wrangling.

Le Grand Paris, a serious stifler

Another much vaster artificialisation project in France, amongst many others, is gaining pace in the wheat bowl of France.  This area of Paris-Saclay just south of Paris is under the sword of Damocles with the pharaonic Grand Paris Project: 229 square kilometres of the most fertile soil (silt) in France covering 2 Departments (Essone and les Yvelines) is being artificialised.  Plans to create an ‘oasis of green’ in this huge area with zones for local agriculture are taken as an affront by local expropriated farmers who dismiss such plans as ‘hot air’ and smoke-and-mirror tactics in the name of galloping urbanisation.

Grand Paris construction site near Saclay, Essone. Photo : Maxppp

 

Percentage of land artificialisation in 2015 (coloured) and number of additional hectares artificialised between 2006 and 2015. An average of 65.758 hectares of land was artificialised between 2006 and 2015. The increase of artificialised land directly reflects a loss in natural or agricultural land. Source: National Observatory for Biodiversity.

Arguments for and against artificialisation will always be proffered.  But perhaps some serious, fundamental questions need to be re-visited.  Like other dispossessed farmers, Rollon has been financially compensated to stop producing, but at another kind of price…  Dispossessed French farmers abound, with distressing personal consequences.  The issue of suicide amongst farmers was brought up by the Senate in 2017.  The suicide figures are shocking, and often referred to: an official 2016 report shows that a farmer commits suicide every other day***, a rate 20% higher than the rest of the population and that rate is rising – a reflection of how little farmers are considered and appreciated, despite the fact that they are the ones who provide us with the food we eat.

So whenever we seek to get somewhere quicker,  whenever you buy food which is not grown locally, it’s good to be aware that there is a certain non-financial price to pay.  Such infrastructure developments have serious long-term environmental consequences – and social. Nature, who always has the last word, has shown us tragically in the last few years what man’s interference can bring: catastrophic floods, serious loss of biodiversity, disappearance of species, polluted air and disease…

Here’s to Rollon and his wild boar hunt; he still has a couple of fields left where he grows flax with the those spring flower heads spreading a veil of glorious pastel blue over the land, a much more pleasant and optimistic sight than that pall of condemned earth up by the new motorway exchange.

_______________________________________

*Details of discussions during the Estates General for Food Autumn/Winter 2017 can be found here.

** Click here for report on this local development; see page 5

*** See 2016 official report on farmer suicides published by France’s National Health Agency. One suicide every two days for farmers, particularly those from 45 – 54 years old.

See also:

Mapping soil; increasing carbon stocks.

Grand Paris,

Bio farming in France

Farmers to the rescue: France’s renewables.

Mess, manure and anaerobic digesters: Methanisation

Comments: 3 replies added

  1. Maxim October 30, 2018

    However, the loss of agricultural land to the spatial expansion of urban areas is often exaggerated; one recent study suggested that only West Europe among the world's regions has more than 1 per cent of its land area as urban ( S 992 chneider

  2. ajh October 30, 2018

    Thanks for this, interesting. Can you let me know where I can find the study you refer to?

  3. chocolate October 30, 2018

    Urban centres often expand over their nation's most productive agricultural land since most urban centres grew there precisely because of highly fertile soils. Most of the world's major cities today have been important cities for several hundred years, so they became important cities before the development of motorized transport (and later refrigeration) that reduced cities' dependence on their surroundings for food and other agricultural products. Of course, for prosperous cities, the demand for agricultural commodities has long-since gone far beyond what is or could be produced in their surroundings. They draw on large and complex global supply chains and have large ecological footprints, drawing on distant elsewheres for food, fuel and carbon sinks ( Rees 1992 ). The dependence of many very large concentrations of urban populations on long international supply chains for food, fuels and most intermediate and final goods 6 makes them vulnerable to disasters in locations that supply these or buy their products, and also to rising fuel prices.

Join in: leave your comment